It’s my adventures into Asgard! A look at Thor the Mighty Avenger 1-4

Thor Mighty Avenger 1-4

Writer: Roger Langridge

Artist: Chris Samnee

Yesterday at my store in the midst of my grabbing Thor #615 there was another Thor book on my radar which was Thor the Mighty Avenger. I’d been hemming and hawing on grabbing this for awhile but I decided to take the plunge into this series this week. I wasn’t disappointed at all. The nifty thing about this book is the radiating of pure unadulterated fun that comes from this. The best way to put this to you if you’re curious is this is the way you’d love to see a Thor animated series done at least one concept of it.  If this became a series I’d not be disappointed. It changes some things up like Jane Foster being a curator in a museum in Oklahoma rather than her being a doctor in new york. Not a big deal though. I did like the aspect that Thor had absolutely no idea what he did outside of just being zapped onto earth to learn humility for whatever it was he did. You also get quite a nice look into the different aspects of Thor as you go through these issues. Even the Marvel Universe at large gets nice highlights. From Hank Pym and Janet Van Dyne who were absolutely a joy to read in this book I have to say. Into Mr. Hyde and one of my favorite uses of the Warriors Three. Even a quick zap of Loki in the book which causes one fascinating bit of chaos in issue three that involves Hank and Janet.

The thing you have to appreciate is this is one book that for all ages you can actually show someone from a kid to even an adult. I actually plan on showing this book to my Dad at some point since he’s a big Thor fan and it’s hit or miss for me in finding current Thor books he’d like. The last book that he and I actually read was and you’re all going to laugh was the Dan Jurgens run on Thor. He absolutely loved it until Lord of Asgard. I’m digressing though for that’s a post for another day. Yes this is the most user friendly Thor book I’ve run into. It’s a different look into the character and world that is absolutely a joy to read.  I know now that I’ve started into it I will never put it down. I could go on for quite awhile on this book. There’s just so many more details to get into. From the quirky cast in the museum that pops up to Thor’s adjustments to earth in little doses. For it handles that really well and it’s so perfect in how it works. You just can’t help but smile as you read this for it’s just absolute fun. For all the growling that goes on in comics how we lack fun in it and so forth you show someone something like this and it can spark something. From fun writing to crisp and just fun to look at artwork this has it all. Go to your local store and just go grab these issues and you won’t be disappointed.

Yes I just summed up four issues of this book in a short review but seriously for this one I sort of just keep going into the aspect of narrowing it down to, “It’s awesome go get this!”

That is how I’m going to roll with this one.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on September 23, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

