X-Men 2099 #1 = Wow I kind of dug this…

I christened my new reading room so to speak by taking a look at X-Men 2099 #1 for it’s been a very long time since I’d read it last and it was fascinating to look at again. It’s part of the 2099 line Marvel had back in 1993. Eerily enough about the same time period in which my comic buying started cutting back and started into my Magic: The Gathering addiction but I digress. I’ll sum up who worked on the book right in this part..

Writer: John Francis Moore

For the longest time he was extremely prolific when he was working on everything from X-Force to the insanely good Chronos. He was literally all over the map in fact why I read this first issue was because I noticed he was the writer of this series.

Artist: Ron Lim (insanely solid artist)

Inker: Adam Kubert!

Yes kids he inked this sucker and that’s fascinating as hell to me to see that.

What’s interesting about this book and what I love about it is you literally get introduced to each and every one of your main characters quickly. You have the whole cast known and you get a good idea as to what’s going on. For make note on this I never really did read 2099 series so a lot of this as I review this run will be as new to you as it is to me as I read through it all. You have your main characters being,

Bloodhawk (Yes..90’s..Blood..move on.)

Skullfire (who is Timothy and from what I remember he’s eventually called this.)

Krystalin

Meanstreak

Shakti (who I’m not sure of the codename of.) (Just looked it up and it’s Cerebra.)

Eddie (who I think is called Metalhead but I’m not 100% sure.) (Yay I was right, Metalhead!)

Serpentina

Xi’an

Before the end of the issue you get your intro to each of the characters and get a feel for them. The storyline from what I can gather is Xi’an is gathering his own X-Men team and has this sanctuary in the midst of the desert gathering mutants and general other people who would be considered rejects of society. One the artwork is so nice, crisp, and clean. Ron Lim is one insanely under-rated artist in his skills for art and storytelling. For the man can tell a freaking story in the midst of his artwork. The writing is solid and gives you the start to what I find one curious adventure into the universe. For this is pretty much one team generally set at the core just is adding people to get set up for the next step in whatever Xi’an is going for next. Your character that is your point of view character for the early part of this is Timothy (soon to be Skullfire) and he’s your intro into this thing and leading you through the initial concepts of this place he’s managed to wander into. Then through the book you get your tour through the world.

Now what you might all find funny is how I managed to wander into X-Men 2099 land right?

Giant collection of it at an antique mall near my comic store. The place was originally a Van Leunens Department store that got converted into this and how I heard about this place was through my Mom and my Great Aunt who said there were comics. Ever since then I’ve made a point to pop into the place from time to time to see if any dealers have any new stock. Every bit or so I find finds say like this or the giant piece of Cable comics I found as well. Again I digress but I give you more place setting for this.

It’s fascinating to see that also you can get one full story setup within one issue I mean I don’t mind decompressed storytelling but it’s nice to be able to get introduced to the general concepts of the series in one fell swoop. I can appreciate that quite a bit. I will say I grabbed this giant chunk because it was cheap and it turned into one pleasant surprise. In fact I have the last bit of it I don’t have ordered and on the way to me. Soon I will have one giant series review in the future for this book and spoilers be darned I will go nuts. Might even end up being a video review? We shall see!

If you stumble upon this book cheap definitely go for it and you might end up wanting to just blast out the entire run if you can see the rest of it too.

Till next time!

 

 

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on January 7, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

