It’s okay to like Spider-Man! Seriously it’s fine! Awesome if you ask me.

In my adventures in re-embracing Spider-Man back into my comic reading life as I mentioned in the last post (http://wp.me/p15aIw-P) I’ve been on this spree of Spidey. I couldn’t get the last issue due to the fact my stores copies got damaged so I have to wait till this Wednesday to grab my own copy. It is funny that if you asked me a year ago if I’d be reading Spidey on a regular basis again I’d be laughing. Now I just can’t get enough. I buy everything I’ve missed over the past few years or so just to catch up. For in my own full admission I read two volumes of Brand New Day and loved it but couldn’t fully click with it then. I call it the Dan Slott factor in him being the regular writer and just the passion he showed in interviews that made me go, “You know what let’s do this let’s get back into Spider-Man.” Read the first issue liked it and then kept reading. In my own store I got some cranky from some of my crew but that was okay I liked it. I did ask my comic guy about how it’s doing and sales have actually sparked back up due to the new direction which makes me smile. It deserves every bit of it. That and I love this story arc. It kills me the latest issue got damaged since I was dying to read that latest part! Want to read next part so bad. I can be patient till Wednesday though.

One of my favorite Spidey stories is actually the Spider-Man and Fantastic Four Silver Rage. Okay full admission it’s because of the fact that Impossible Man is in there and I love that character. For goodness sakes I can say I own a fair share of some books just because of Impossible Man alone. Impossible Man = Awesome but I digress. I think I was always kind of wanting to get back into Spider-Man it just took me a bit. Now I have returned in full force. Being the lone big fan of my talking circle at the store and knowing I’ll have a rough time convincing them but hey I’m cool with that. I’ve learned I’m the man willing to dive into books at any given time.  I do own the old trade too that has the Cosmic Spider-Man period which was absolutely awesome in just how fun it was. All powerful Spider-Man is absolutely fascinating and how it all worked was pretty slick. I do believe that’s also part of Acts of Vengeance. Which I pre-ordered the Omnibus and also the Crossovers of. Just throwing that one out there.

My next thing will be to go through my Spider-man reading and give reviews. It’ll be that and all my mass amount of X-Men and anything else I have. If you all only knew my reading pile. You’d all be fascinated and horrified all at the same time.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on February 6, 2011, in Comic Books, Marvel Comics, Spider-Man and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. As a lifelong Spider-Man fan, I approve! I confess I haven’t kept up with current storylines (current as in, oh, the last decade or so!) but how can you not love Spidey? Gotta love the webhead. I think I told you how I picked up the entire second volume (27 issues) of Spectacular Spider-Man at that antique mall a few weeks back? I haven’t had the heart to read them yet because most are still in the original packaging!

    • Yay! Thank you Vic! 😀 You should check out the recent issues of Spider-Man that Dan Slott is writing. I really really like them so far. Also open the comics and read darn you! XD See I feel right now Spidey is the easiest to get back into in quite awhile since it’s so user friendly. You can pick it up and read pretty easily at this point. I think the first arc of big time just came out in hardcover though you should be able to find the single issues pretty easily.

Leave a Reply

