Re-embracing a company or how I learned to like Marvel again.

For a very long period of time I wouldn’t hardly read a lot of Marvel. Mainly it was DC, Image, and whatever else but not really anything Marvel. Mostly trades I would get every good bit or so but no real single collecting of any of the Marvel titles. I would say it started right around the time of when I was big into DC’s Infinite Crisis and not much of Marvel really fascinated me. So I fell further into Infinite Crisis and then the whole Spider-Man marriage thing happened and that killed me on Marvel for awhile. The past year or so I’ve started re-discovering Marvel in a bigger way.  As DC hasn’t been as big for me I’ve started to try out different Marvel titles or at least give them a better chance. Lo and behold I’ve got a good chunk of my list with Marvel and DC both neck and neck. My funniest Marvel love again has been with Spider-Man. I’ve gotten to seriously love this new run with Dan Slott writing. It’s been so much fun to read and seeing how it’s going together really impresses me. In turn I’ve now started to hunt through single issues and anything Spider-Man I might not have gotten to read. Even the ones after the great marriage purge. I won’t read the ones that well were the beginning of it. For those things kind of irk me a bit but I’m of the point of it happened so let’s see what they can do. Good stories are good stories. I now also have been buying a good bit of Spider-Man from all eras too. Between that and my X-Men hauls. I’ve been on a roll as of late.

Though Marvel I’m still not big on the X-Men direction but I make up for it with my love of  Avengers Academy and Secret Avengers. That and the fact that I just ordered the Astonishing X-Men Omnibus. So heck yes.

The thing is I’m now finally re-opened to Marvel in full.  Lord I do get some crap for it. I call it the I can live with it since I like it and that’s really all that matters. My next wander is going to be the Black Panther: Man without Fear book. I’ll be getting that one and seeing what I think. I love the artwork and I’ll see what I think of the writing once I get one good solid read of it.

Since a good chunk of the DC Line has burned me out it’s why I’m sort of re-discovering my Marvel love since I’m fried on Green Lantern and the Flash. I know that’s horrible but lateness with the Flash and the whole Blackest Night into Brightest Day kind of fried me on the titles. It’s why I started exploring further and seeing what else might catch my eye. Which isn’t a bad thing in itself.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on February 6, 2011, in Comic Books, Marvel Comics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

