A look at the new Venom #1! It’s not a “Flash” in the pan.

(spoilers ahead)

Okay so today at the store a little comic called Venom #1 and I’d been curious about it for quite awhile. I mean quite awhile between the early preview pages and then the last couple issues of Amazing introducing him I was pretty excited actually over it. I’m glad that my excitement over this book wasn’t knocked out of me. For it didn’t disappoint me at all. Rick Remender is doing one heck of a job with this book from the get go. He’s great at showing the general struggle between the Venom Symbiote Weapon and Flash Thompson going back and forth with each other. I loved the nice tension building to the equivalent of say a TV show when a character is about to fly off the handle only if not then the symbiote takes over and all hell will break loose. For if that Symbiote breaks loose then kill switch active and well yeah it’s going to suck. You really don’t get the full showing of the cast in this issue but that’s okay you pretty much got the full setup either from Amazing Spider-Man 654 and 654.1 but even if you hadn’t read those you can still get the feel for the severity of the situation and what the Venom and Flash connection is all about. It’s great action in the book while explaining the plot and how it’ll work. I loved that balance and got a major kick out of seeing Jack O’Lantern in the book. That was awesome. I’m curious to see how that will be followed up for sure.

Tony Moore being the artist on this is just mind blowing. Holy lord between the initial Stark Armor slaughter fest in the beginning to the ending of the book he handles it all. This is probably one of my favorite art jobs of his to be honest with you. In just how the action flows together and how everything just clicks absolutely impressed me. The sequences in the book when well things go into s-word hitting the fan mode are absolutely amazing in the shock factor and how it works out. If the general written descriptions aren’t getting you going the art gives that extra punch that is absolutely energizing. This is probably one book that where the action hits big oh it hits big. The best way to put this is action done terrifically well. There’s so many sequences I just can’t pick one as my general favorite. Then at the end of the book when Flash goes back to his normal life and well to say the least it’s pretty ugly. I felt so sad for him. Between the written and artistic parts it works beautifully.

This book initially by all intents people weren’t really sure on and I was one of them for awhile. Now this Venom book is a welcome addition and it will be on my pull list immediately. If you’re not sure about it give it a shot. Take a quick look at it in the store and see what you think. Honestly it’s just one of those books I’d grab and be done with it. It’s that danged good. You won’t be disappointed.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on March 10, 2011, in Comic Books, Marvel Comics, Spider-Man, Venom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. hi geekwholanded. i couldn’t find a contact on here so I thought i’d leave a comment. i’d love to feature you writing reviews on my comic site ‘mycomicnetwork(dot)com’ please email me on my email that’s submitted w/ my comment. thanks!

  1. Pingback: Venom #2 or How do you like to be hunted?

Leave a Reply

