The Dawn of the Relaunch is upon us!

I just got asked this on twitter overnight by ALouisS, “So….The DC relaunch is just over the horizon….Will you be mourning the loss of the DC of old?”, and that got me to thinking of that question. I’ve been following DC regularly since the late 90’s, getting truly hooked during Infinite Crisis. Infinite Crisis hooked me because that was the last major DC event that had real build up. It also had a feeling of actually mattering. Bringing back the Multiverse, setting up one year later, launching the weekly 52 series, and still there was ramifications coming from that event. The last big events to me didn’t have that same long term effect like Infinite Crisis did. From then on, every event felt like a pale comparison to the buildup that Infinite Crisis had behind it. For every misstep there was something good happening that caught my eye. That event turned me into a major league DC reader for a long period of time . Marvel became a distant world for me in my comic buying experience. I stuck mostly with DC, Wildstorm, and the occasional Image with other random indie books on the side. Just totally fell head over heels for the DCU. Over the past few years and through other crossovers I felt myself and my list balancing out with Marvel, DC, Image, and anything else that catches my eye.

Over the past few years I’ve noticed that DC has tended to wander in the direction of throwing spaghetti at the wall, seeing what ends up sticking. For the two biggest titles I’m sad to see go are Secret Six and the Stephanie Brown Batgirl title. It’s hard for me to say this but the relaunch was needed. If this does backfire I’ll be one of the first to say this turned into something horrible. Right now this industry isn’t growing in the way it deserves. If this relaunch serves to bring any new readers then the relaunch worked. There’s been some glitches, some downright serious glitches in the promotion of the relaunch. I still feel though that this  in theory isn’t a bad idea. I leave you off with this, I am going to miss parts of the old DCU, but I’m looking forward to seeing what the relaunch holds. Just seriously DC, don’t screw it up.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on August 27, 2011, in Comic Books, DC Comics, DC Relaunch, state of the industry, Thoughts of the Humble Host and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I agree with you for the most part.

    The relaunch was a big, bold risk, but their marketing/messaging has been muddy at best. Was hoping for some improvements, but I still don’t see how they are reaching out for a new audience.

Leave a Reply

