Spoiler filled thoughts! Justice League #1

Just posted up a review of Justice League #1 and couldn’t help but think of an idea for an interesting new idea for my blog. This is where you’ll get my more spoiler filled versions of thoughts I have on different comics I review throughout the week. Let’s get this started shall we?

Okay the alien in this issue fascinates me, I kind of wish at Fan Expo no one would have talked about the fact that Darkseid is going to be the main villain of this first story arc. I would have loved to have been surprised by that, but hey it was still cool to hear the alien spit that out before he burned to a crisp. That entire segment was a lot of fun to read, just seeing how Green Lantern of this universe interacted with Batman was absolutely priceless. The “You’re just a guy in a bat suit!?” made me laugh my head off. Yes I know it was kind of cheesy but really, you can’t deny that wasn’t a pretty good line. Though the counter to that was hilarious when Batman just grabs the ring. Perfectly paced piece and made me just keep smiling. The character interactions are what make this first issue shine.

I’ve heard comments on lackluster writing but I don’t see it, this is actually some of my favorite Geoff Johns writing in quite a long time. I feel like he’s having fun. There’s something liberating about having a blank canvas to play with, just making sure to keep the core of the characters alive. You still know all these characters, yet they’re in a brand new and dangerous world. Jim Lee is doing some of the best work I’ve seen of his recently, he’s giving his a-game for this book and it shows in every panel. I loved the Green Lantern constructs he created, and the giant flying bats at the Police helicopters was priceless.

The Vic Stone introduction has had many opinions across the net, and I liked it as you know from my review, but there’s this great segment I didn’t get to mention. I loved how he was looking at Green Lantern’s plane as it was flying over metropolis and his sadness over his Dad, yet this sort of wonderment across his face caught my attention. I can’t wait to see just what in the world happens to end up making him Cyborg in the relaunched DCU. This story strikes me as Vic Stone’s as much as the formation of the Justice League, for everyone else it seems is established except for him. Cyborg will more than likely be our point of view character when the team is up and running.

Now the last page with Superman is going to be interesting. I know there’s going to be a fight in the next issue, but I get the feeling it’s going to play differently than what we’d expect. I’m hoping as much since I’d rather it not be the typical Superhero misunderstanding fight. We’ll see though. If anything Jim Lee will be able to draw some amazing action sequences which will be awesome. So we win either way. I loved how Superman took out Green Lantern, just one fast red and blue blur of the over confident hero. That’ll teach you to underestimate Superman.

and that does it for the first installment of Spoiler filled thoughts. Every review I do for mycomicnetwork will get a treatment on here for the most part. Oh and really I can’t wait to find out what’s up with the  purple girl from Flashpoint #5 and how she relates to the relaunched DC Universe. Till next time!

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on September 1, 2011, in Comic Books, DC Comics, DC Relaunch, Spoiler Filled Thoughts, Thoughts of the Humble Host and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

