Conversation Piece: The DC New 52 and beyond

We’re now in the first full week of the DC Relaunch. There’s been a lot of great things coming out of this relaunch thus far, nicest bit being all the conversation about comics that’s sprouted out of this. Every day on twitter, there’s always some new conversation sparking from this. It’s starting to perk up in circles that are outside of the normal crowds. People are starting to get curious and this is a good thing. Now the ultimate test is going to be if this material keeps them going long term. We’re all curious but if that curiosity spreads into crowds outside of our own even better. I feel we’re in the midst of a paradigm shift, where things are looking like they’re truly starting to go somewhere and it seems for the better. We hope so. For there is a lot of good going on, there’s excitement in the air, people are asking questions, people are wondering how this is going to work, and for all the bad there is a lot of good.

Now as the New 52 spreads, this feeling should spread further into the rest of our fair industry. I’m just small cog in the comic machine yet this is an industry I feel passionate about, I love talking comics, I love reviewing comics, and with all this energy flowing around it’s been perking my energy back up to new heights. We’re starting to enter a better world for making better comics. I feel as if I’m part of a new world, a truly brave new world of comics that can only get better. Every day I come online for all the things that aren’t that great in my own life, I instantly get recharged by all the conversations around me involving comics. There’s an equal amount of positive and negative. The nicest thing being that there’s a conversation. Surprisingly civil too, which amazes and makes me quite proud of the things I’ve witnessed. Even if they disagree with something you say, at least you all know you’re both comic fans and that you can agree to disagree. We all have to realize that we’re all comic fans. We all love reading about these characters, seeing what they’re up to, and in turn love when new ideas sprout up that give us new characters to embrace. From the New 52 initiatives, to Marvel’s events, and to the limitless ideas coming out of Image, Boom! and many other companies. It’s all comics. We have a lot of amazing books coming out right now. My goodness, you have Marvel with Spider-Island which has been one of the best events they’ve done in quite a long time.

Everyone has amazing things going on right now, and that’s what I’m noticing more of on twitter, and in general internet chatter. We’re having to learn to focus more on the amazing. There are a lot of people who can’t focus on that, yet it seems that the level of people realizing how many cool things are going in comics are balancing this conversation out. I’m a little guy in this chatter, yet even if I don’t like something I want to explain why, and I’ll at least read something before I instantly condemn it. I don’t like the look of the Teen Titans costumes but am I still going to read the comic? Yes I am, for I want to see if this ends up being a good story. I’m not a big fan of Rob Liefeld, yet I found myself loving the Infinite and will end up taking a look at Hawk and Dove. There’s something to be said about this. We’re working on making things better, and I want to be part of making things better. Though really if anything amazingly stupid pops up I’m not going to hesitate to comment. Right now though, we’re at the dawn of something that could turn out to be amazing. From the New 52 to this spreading like wildfire into everything else that makes this industry great. Let’s see what happens and keep making comics better.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on September 6, 2011, in DC Comics, DC Relaunch, Marvel Comics, state of the industry, Thoughts of the Humble Host and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

