Thoughts from your Humble Host: Grant Morrison

http://robot6.comicbookresources.com/2011/11/comics-college-grant-morrison/

I just took a read of this column off of CBR and I have to say this is interesting to me. Cracks me up that I actually have a good chunk of this material in one way or another. This for the most part is a solid look at his work. There’s some great reading in each of these things mentioned. Especially the Invisibles which by the way if none of you out there have read the Invisibles, do yourself a favor and find the trades immediately.  I got mine in a random adventure at Half Price Books in which one day I went in with a buddy of mine and there they were. Every single volume of the Invisibles right before me. Which inspired one of the weeks in which my brain felt it got rewired. Within all the ideas represented here with the sheer inventiveness of the story comes a mind melting event of awesome that has to be experienced.

By the way I like that usage of words, mind melting event of awesome. That’s cool.

Morrison’s We3 is actually one of my favorite stories of his as I own the TPB of it as well as the deluxe hardcover edition. By the way I recommend grabbing the hardcover edition since that one is just chock full of great material. I’ve had people I know who don’t read a lot of comics read We3 and get to wanting to read more from there. Mixed in with the fact that there’s so much amazing material from him out there that we’re going to get into something that’s been much talked about and argued about at times, his current Action Comics run.

I’ve done two reviews of his Action Comics so far, which I’ll link below,

http://www.mycomicnetwork.com/v2/2011/09/action-comics-1-grant-morrison-gives-us-his-take-on-superman/

http://www.mycomicnetwork.com/v2/2011/10/action-comics-2-superman-captured/

I’m kind of an oddball with my views on this series, I genuinely like it. What caught my eye so much with this is the fact that this series feels natural to what it would have been like for Superman to appear in our time. I think Morrison is building piece by piece the current version of Superman and there’s not as many mad ideas but we’re getting there. The next issues are going to be where Grant starts to cut loose which the Legion of Superheroes showing up. I didn’t get to do a review of issue 3 but I did like it quite a lot. Gene Ha’s view of Krypton was a thing a beauty and it’s Gene Ha doing this, you knew it was going to look great. Give Action Comics a shot if you’re curious about the series by the way. It is a good read especially if you think back to the early appearances of Superman.

The one goal of mine at some point is to grab all of his New X-Men Ultimate Collections and just read through them. Same with finishing up his Doom Patrol and Animal Man runs. All three have been on my hit list for quite a long time. I’m also going to finish up this post here as I can’t think of anything else at the moment. Till next time!

 

 

 

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on November 27, 2011, in DC Comics, DC Relaunch, Marvel Comics, My Comic Network, Thoughts of the Humble Host and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

