The Extreme Studios Relaunch: I’m just as surprised as anyone else

http://www.mycomicnetwork.com/v2/2012/01/the-rebirth-of-extreme-studios-prophet-21/

http://www.mycomicnetwork.com/v2/2012/02/the-extreme-age-continues-with-glory-23/

These reviews I just posted up here represent the beginning of my look into Rob Liefeld’s Extreme Studio Relaunch. Collecting my shock into just how much I liked both of these books. It’s a clever idea with Liefeld to let a diverse group of creators and let them cut loose. Prophet under Brandon Graham and Simon Ray went for a Heavy Metal/European inspired book going in directions I couldn’t have ever imagined. While Glory had Joe Keatinge and Ross Campbell taking the concept of Wonder Woman and taking it to new heights. It’s taking the concepts that Rob Liefeld had back in those days and taking them in brand new or just improved directions.

I’m amazed at both books instantly hitting my new favorites list. The new issues of both can’t arrive for me fast enough. Though Prophet #22 comes out next week, which is going to feel like forever. Glory #24 hits next month and I want time travel to be invented so I can have it now. They’re the sort of books that as a comic fan just make you happy. These are also the books that if you ever want to tell people why you like comics, show them these and it’ll explain it. For goodness sake, Glory has a scene where she punches out of a tank after decimating a lot of Nazi soldiers. How cool is that? I ask you, how cool is that?

While Prophet is awesome in just all the ideas that are within the issue. I honestly say as well for me that the Warren Ellis recommendation put it over the top. Then I saw Simon Ray’s artwork for the first time and it fascinated the life out of me. I had to have this book in my life. Which when I got it in my life, I then had to take Glory more seriously from there. Then Glory turned out to be great and now I want to try out Bloodstrike when it comes out next month.

Extreme Studios, a concept that I never imagined I would have wanted back. Now the comic book universe is all the better for having these characters back. Welcome back Extreme Studios and if you keep being this wonderful, may you never leave again.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on February 17, 2012, in Comic Books, Image Comics, My Comic Network, Thoughts of the Humble Host and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

