My Marvel NOW! Thoughts on Deadpool: Chimichangas!

Confirmed officially today by IGN, Deadpool is on the way by Brian Posehn, Garry Duggan, and drawn by Tony Moore. In the wake of this one, I wasn’t sure quite what to expect on this front. Deadpool is truthfully one of my favorite characters in the Marvel Universe. I’ve always been a fan but there’s been two takes that I’ve really liked, Joe Kelly and Gail Simone. They are two of my favorite creators for a reason, they also cut their chops on Deadpool. Their runs on the series define the character and the nature of him for me. Any creator taking on Deadpool I usually keep an especially careful eye on. For example, I really don’t like Daniel’s Way take on the character, I’ve never quite been able to get into it.  Though from this first interview, I’m hopeful.

Duggan and Posehn seem to have a handle on a truly bizarre take on Deadpool from the beginning, their first story had me laughing out loud. Dead presidents coming back and wreaking havoc. Sounds like my idea of a good time! It’s so appropriate that this is going to hit in November, considering that by this point we’ll be wanting some stress relief from this election. Deadpool relating our thoughts on the electoral process, and endless TV ads, especially if you live in certain states, I digress though. Though while the story is gloriously weird yet sounds like so much fun, it’ll also be about the character and just how they handle Deadpool’s personality too. I think if they find that nice balance there, they can make any kind of story work. That was the key to both the Kelly and Simone runs for me.

I love that they got Tony Moore for Deadpool, he has such a great style and you can’t help but say they made a good choice. Mixed in with that wonderful Geof Darrow cover for the first issue, I find myself optimistic about this relaunch. There’s a good feeling about this and I can’t wait to see more as it gets closer to release. Because really, while this is a bizarre story, this could work. Considering that a lot of Way’s choices in my opinion just didn’t entirely work for the character and pushed way too much into one direction. I will say I’m at least in for a couple issues of the run just to see what they do. I just really want a book that truly makes me like Deadpool the way I once did a few years ago. This might be the closest Marvel has come to that point. We’ll see in November.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on August 9, 2012, in Marvel Comics, Marvel NOW! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

