My Thoughts on Matt Fraction’s Marvel NOW! Fantastic Four and FF: Family, Extended

Now we get the official confirmation from USA Today that Matt Fraction is on Fantastic Four and FF. I really wasn’t sure about this one, Fantastic Four, FF and myself have been at odds overall. I’m overall a fan of what Jonathan Hickman has done with both series, though I don’t buy them regularly because of budget really, though I do plan on checking out the eventual omnibus editions that Marvel will do for his run. Now Matt Fraction has the unenviable task of following up Hickman’s tenure heading up the Fantastic Franchise. With Mark Bagley on Fantastic Four and Mike Allred on FF, I like both artists, yet like I said I wasn’t sure on either one and then I read the USA Today interview and now I have to say I’m interested.

With Fantastic Four, Matt Fraction is setting up the greatest road trip in the universe. With Fraction having the Fantastic Four take Valeria and Franklin on a historical trip throughout time and space. I love this concept, this should be really a lot of fun to see. Let’s face it Mark Bagley now gets the chance to cut loose on a truly inspired direction for this series. I can even tell that he’s excited about the prospect of this series. It keeps the family and fantastic aspects of the concept alive. Two factors absolutely necessary for the Fantastic Four series. I think this will be a fun comic, though while this would be cool to start out with, the idea behind FF is a cool concept in its own right.

While I am a fan of what Fraction is doing with Fantastic Four, FF is one that catches my attention a bit more. The idea being that the FF are the new guard lining up, chosen by the Fantastic Four personally, carrying on the legacies of each member of the team. While the Four are way on their road trip, they need someone to keep Earth protected and that’s where the FF comes in. Reed Richards (Mr. Fantastic) chooses Scott Lang as Ant-Man, Sue Richards (Invisible Woman) chooses Medusa, Ben Grimm (The Thing) chooses She-Hulk, and Johnny Storm (Human Torch) chooses a girl he was with the nice before he leaves and gives her a Thing costume. It’s that classic moment of, this is all awesome and then here’s this girl wondering what Johnny Storm got her into. Now it is this legacy team with one girl woefully unprepared for what she’s in for. I like this, a new team dealing with the villains of the old. This should be perfectly suited to Mike Allred.

Two new takes on the Fantastic Franchise set in one giant interview, now finding myself interested in both of them. With these I have faith that Matt Fraction can make them work. Though as a trade off in November, The Defenders are getting canceled with #12. I never could quite find myself into that series but I know it has its fans. Though hopefully Fraction’s two new comics should fill the gap of that series. Marvel NOW! has a couple other concepts that have caught my attention more than I expected. I can easily find myself checking the first issues of both of these series. There’s an immense amount of potential here and I’m willing to see where this all goes.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on August 9, 2012, in Marvel Comics, Marvel NOW!, Thoughts of the Humble Host, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

