Syfy Adapting All of The Comics Apparently, Holy Adaptation Nation!

Syfy is in the mood for adapting comics right now, they’re not playing around in setting up the future for their network that’s for sure.  I’m just going to link the Comic Book Resources page as they collect all the announcements in one area so you can see more info that way, check out more details here on that front. I’m just blown away that Syfy is adapting Ronin, Pax Romana, Clone, and Letter 44, that’s a powerful push to show that Syfy means business. I’ve read all of Ronin and it’s one of my favorite Frank Miller pieces, mostly because of how different it is. That Syfy is looking towards making this a miniseries is perfect, should translate well to a TV audience and if Syfy doesn’t screw this up should be a fun ride. Yes if you already can’t tell, I’m looking forward to seeing what Syfy does with Ronin, I really hope it turns out well.

I can’t really say much to Clone or Letter 44, I haven’t read enough of them to say either way what my opinion is on those. I’ve read one issue of Clone and one issue of Letter 44. I’ve been hearing better things about Clone because the first issue was a little underwhelming for me, sounds like the series gets better as it goes on. Letter 44, I read the first issue and then sadly lost track of the series, my own fault on that one. From either one though and in the little bit I’ve read, they’re TV friendly ideas. I can see why Syfy went after them because they look like they could both go over huge as TV series.

As for Jonathan Hickman’s Pax Romana, I just realized I have the book for that. Now that I know there’s a miniseries on the way for that one, may be a good time to finally read that. As good a time as any to check that book out. This sounds like a great read so I’ll be checking that out as soon as possible. Likely over the weekend, hey could be a fun post idea huh? I think it could be a cool post idea, ah the wonderful things that pop up as you write down stuff online.

I digress though, I love that Syfy is pushing new series. Two new series and two miniseries and Syfy is going to be attracting all sorts of viewers to their network. They’re wanting to get serious about their television and they’re showing everyone that they’re not fooling around. I’m excited to see how this turns out. Syfy thanks for adapting all of the comics and for embracing your roots once more. Bravo Syfy, Bravo.

 

 

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on April 30, 2014, in DC Comics, Image Comics, Thoughts of the Humble Host and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

