Examining FCBD: DC’s New 52: Future’s End #0

As I’m reviewing Future’s End #1 for Rhymes With Geek, what better time to look over Future’s End #0. The Free Comic Book Day Future’s End #0 is the beginning of this new weekly series showing the New 52 DCU five years later. It is a weird book and starting out thirty five years later in the New 52 DCU  is a sight to behold. The story goes is that Brother Eye is in full command and the holy s-word has hit the fan. We get to see the DCU at the worst point possible and why Batman Beyond (Terry McGinnis) is going to play the role he’s going to play. Before we get to Terry McGinnis and Batman Beyond we get an immense amount of weird DCU mania just thrown at us. In this intro Brian Azzarello, Jeff Lemire, Dan Jurgens, and Keith Giffen embrace madness alley and we are along for the ride.

If I were to say much of anything right now as to the quality, it’s got me curious. Future’s End piqued my interest without any doubt. We have Batman Beyond five years in the future, again I don’t consider that a big spoiler because it was revealed in the preview pages for Future’s End #1. If I were to spoil Future’s End, it was spoiled by Bleeding Cool and many other venues but I won’t go to that point here. There’s really nothing to spoil though in Future’s End #0, lots of horrible stuff is happening and now Batman Beyond is five years into the future to prevent that. From what Future’s End is showing, nothing is that simple but this looks like it could be fun as to how dark the future is. In a weird way these weeklies DC is doing may be a great way to bring a bit of energy back to the DC Universe. Energy that DC Comics has been lacking for a long time.

Strange to say but true, DC Comics coming out of Forever Evil is showing some life. Now don’t take this as me being all flailing arms like Kermit the Frog, I’m cautiously optimistic if anything. Future’s End has ideas and they could be cool ones, Future’s End #1 coming out this Wednesday will give me a further idea as to how this will go. If you’re wondering another reason why I chose to do Future’s End as my review this week is simple; I like Batman Beyond and time travel stories. I’m a sucker for a good future shock story and time travel in general is a selling point for me, you got me for at least the first couple issues DC Comics.

Keep an eye out Thursday on Rhymes With Geek for my further thoughts on Future’s End #1, will I love it, will I hate it? At this point I’m at least interested and a free comic isn’t a bad way to get into the door. Let’s see if I want to visit Future’s End on a weekly basis after Thursday.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on May 3, 2014, in DC Comics, Rhymes With Geek, Thoughts of the Humble Host and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

