Comic Books Are All Over TV This Fall

I never thought I’d be in an age where this many comic books would be hitting television screens at the same time. To start this off we have Agents of SHIELD renewed and Agent Carter on the way, Now DC’s lineup for television is insanity in a good way, Constantine on NBC, Gotham on Fox, The Flash and iZombie on the CW, with Arrow renewed for another season too. Don’t forget The Walking Dead on AMC returning in the fall, which means eight comic book shows are going to be on TV at the same time. This is huge to say the least because right now this proves that comics on TV are big business, especially with that Preacher adaptation on the way from AMC. Which means if these shows all survive by that point, we’ll have nine comic book shows on TV. If I’m missing anything else please let me know, I’m just astonished as to how many comics are appearing on the screens and how many are going to be on TV at the same time.

Now I’m still unsure as to the survival of the new shows on the scene. Agent Carter has potential to be huge as my own shock of my Mom getting excited about the series. She heard about the premise of Agent Carter and she got intrigued, I can’t wait to see who else will be in this cast. The Flash should be an easy sell as it ties into Arrow with Grant Gustin’s take on Barry Allen going over well with everyone. iZombie could be a touchy sell as it exists in its own little world but it has a strong creative pedigree behind it. Constantine on NBC is one I’m unsure about though if paired with Grimm NBC could have something there. Gotham will be the next easiest one to get a second season next to The Flash because Fox paid huge money for that show. Gotham also has the bonus of having a strong cast to build the series. Gotham’s push of showing what puts Jim Gordon and Young Bruce Wayne into their respective roles while building Batman’s rogues gallery in the process should be a winner. Even more amazing is how I managed to shove in that many perspectives into one paragraph, that’s impressive.

Right now I really don’t have too much to say on a lot of the new shows, I’m in awe of the fact that we’re going to have that many comic shows on in the first place. I do consider this huge despite my cynicism on a few things, this is a big deal for me to see. Either of these shows could hit big, could get renewed, and have potential to last a few years. As I start to see trailers for more of this I’ll have more to say in the months to come but for right now, I remain hopeful. Please let these all be as solid as what I hope they could be, I want a vibrant future for comics on my TV screen as much as anyone else.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on May 10, 2014, in Comic Book Television, Thoughts of the Humble Host and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

