Catching up with Comic Books is Fun!

There’s a unique experience in playing catch up with a comic book backlog, it can be daunting but it can also be strangely fun. In my usage of a program called Habitica, (which by the way I wrote about), one of my goals outside of writing 1 hr a day and focusing on personal projects is reading one hour a day minimum. I apply that to cutting down on my comic book backlog and that’s been a lot of fun. I’ve been discovering new books, catching up on old ones, and I long finished my Goodreads reading challenge. Right now I just finished two volumes of Ales Kot’s Secret Avengers that he’s been doing with Michael Walsh and it is a joy to read. It has M.O.D.O.K. which is total love but also Vladimir the sentient bomb is one of my favorite things ever. I’ll end up talking more on Secret Avengers at some point but right now I am on happy reading mode along with writing thanks to all this. I’m backlogged on comic books and novels in general right now but at least I’m making more headway into it. In turn I’m having a blast with the whole process, I’m a strange dude in this case but hey I’m happy with being a little off the wall.

Now I’m back into a steady groove of writing, exercising, reading, and I’m all the happier for it. Organization is a beautiful thing right now and I’m catching up with all the things right now. I went off a little there but I’m letting you all know how much fun I am having with catching up with everything. It’s so weird that catching up with comic books and catching up with everything can be so much fun but it strangely is. Life is getting even better from here now and comic books again are a big part of why things are getting more awesome.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on August 28, 2015, in Comic Books, Marvel Comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

