Traveling Through Old School Valiant for the First Time

I was a comic fan in the early 90’s but I never read anything of Valiant outside of the occasional Nintendo and WWF/E comic of the time. Valiant’s line of comics is pretty unknown to me. I actually had a few of their comics in my collection but never really read them. I’ve read the Acclaim/Valiant stuff, specifically Quantum and Woody, but outside of that most of that is pretty unknown to me too. I am now starting a small side project into looking over the old Valiant books starting with Eternal Warrior. Not sure how I’m going to do this one yet but I am having fun with reading the comics. It doesn’t have near the 90’s sheen of big guns and other stuff of the period but it has a definite style to it. Eternal Warrior is a pretty solid book overall though wow It is hard to believe that it started being two parts of a major crossover story with Unity. First two issues are part of Unity and I do say these books operate under Jim Shooter’s every issue of a comic could be their first rule so they’re all pretty easy to dive into. Heck even if you weren’t reading Unity at the time you could figure it out, that’s actually pretty amazing.

I’ve got a weird 90’s action comics road ahead of me and if I ever decide to dive through a full X-Force journey of the 90’s, boy howdy that’ll be a ride. Between all the other bits of reading I’m planning on doing, maybe I should focus on one thing at a time at this point or one or two things at a time. Considering my brain and how it can bounce about to ideas, better said than done. I will say though these Eternal Warrior books make me really want to do a full old school Valiant project. I’m having a pretty good time with reading these. I’ve heard that near the end of the original Valiant line before Acclaim/Valiant some of these books can get pretty ugly but we’ll see. Heck if anything it’ll be more entertaining to see if my brain melts upon itself in reading these darned things for the first time. I’m not jumping to any conclusions until later, I’m going to strap myself in and enjoy the reading.

Now I start my ride through Old School Valiant and hey I’m going to have some fun with this by golly. I’ll figure out how to work this later until then I’ll just enjoy the adventure.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on October 5, 2015, in Comic Books, Valiant Comics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Love the new Valiant universe, I’ve only dipped into the 90’s stuff a little but I definitely want to try more

Leave a Reply

