ANAD Marvel Adventures: Uncanny Avengers #1 with The Unity Squad Reborn

Uncanny Avengers #1 Marvel Comics Cover

Uncanny Avengers #1 out of a lot of ANAD Marvel was one I didn’t find myself that hyped about. I was hit or miss on Uncanny Avengers when it was under Remender’s hand though I loved the first arc, but I decided to give this a shot thanks to the Avengers #0 story. Deadpool as an official Avenger is enough to at least catch my eye. It’s something that you never saw happening ever yet here we are, Deadpool is part of the Avengers. With Steve Rogers at the helm along with Rogue, Johnny Storm, Quicksilver, Spider-Man, Doctor Voodoo, and Synapse we have our Uncanny Avengers. The team make up is called The Unity Squad which is Humans, Mutants, and now Inhumans working together to make the world better. Gerry Duggan who has spent a lot of time with Deadpool in his own series is writing this new team along with Ryan Stegman bringing his artistic talents to the squad. Put Richard Isanove on colors and wow, this comic really pops out at you. From a book I didn’t think I’d end up getting into as much to a series I could see myself reading more of, here’s my own journey through Uncanny Avengers #1. ANAD Marvel, you’re pulling out some surprises on me aren’t you?

Initially I titled this with a title referencing the Justice League International mostly because the team dynamic is one of the more stranger I’ve seen in awhile. It’s unconventional but enjoyable in a fun way. I like many types of team dynamics and this is one that I could see becoming a lot of fun in the issues to come. They’re based out of an old theater for goodness sake that has endless amounts of history to it. I’m excited to see where that leads as a theater as old as what the Uncanny Avengers are based out of has character in itself. In a very mild spoiler for the book but not a big deal as it has been shown in previews but Deadpool funds the team. Not a joke, not a lie, Deadpool funds the Uncanny Avengers through merchandise sold at the theater, that’s amazing. I love these little touches that Gerry Duggan has added to this series. Oh yes there is fighting but there is also so much character to this series that I can’t help but enjoy.

Uncanny Avengers #1 Avengers Assemble

To me the state of the team in Uncanny Avengers makes sense considering that everything in the Marvel Universe is a little haywire. It’s honestly kind of exciting for me to see how this team plays out. I like Quicksilver in this series as him getting to have some fun and enjoying himself worked for me. I joke that Johnny Storm is the next Wolverine considering he’s on both Uncanny Avengers and Uncanny Inhumans. The new villain is still early in development and I’m not completely sold on it yet but it’s a first villain and a good way to build the team dynamics so I’m game to see where Duggan takes the idea. Even weirder we live in a concept where Deadpool can work well in an Avengers team, I never thought I’d say that but I like this world.

I get the feeling some people are going to be torn on Ryan Stegman’s look on this series. Personally I loved what I saw in the Avengers #0 intro story and it is only getting better in Uncanny Avengers. Steve Rogers has the best grizzled battle look ever, he might be an old man but he shows that this old man can do damage. Duggan’s characterization shows as much as Stegman’s art matches that. It’s also an action packed story which the initial battle with the Super Adaptoid shows off the massive amount of energy Stegman is putting into Duggan’s script. It’s so fast paced and it feels like a thrill ride. I like Stegman’s take on the Adaptoid and really loved how he handled the action of Spider-Man in the battle. Even more the theater pages were also favorites of mine as Doctor Voodoo’s conversations in there, and Steve Rogers giving us a mini tour of the place looked amazing, I love Stegman’s art in showing off the look of the new headquarters. I’m a sucker for cool old buildings and cool theaters and this hit the spot. A comic that has an off kilter style and a team to match it, I’m digging this.

Take note of Richard Isanove’s coloring on this comic too, it’s really spot on. Isanove is such a great colorist and every page of this really makes Ryan Stegman shine. I’m going to spotlight the theater though in my favorite bits of the coloring because it has these muted colors showing how run down the place is. Even better that when you go down further into the basement and see the dimly lit atmosphere of the theater and it creates so much atmosphere. Every bit of this book looks great but I especially want to rave about the theater scenes because it is in those quiet moments where a story can really shine.

I’m as surprised as you are as to how much I really dug Uncanny Avengers #1. This was one of those I bought as a pure curiosity and found myself getting into the concept. This is one of those moments where giving a comic a fair shake isn’t a bad idea. It’s a cool book and fun team story that has the sort of things that I enjoy in a superhero comic. We need more comic teams based in awesome old theaters anyway. I think a lot of you would get a kick out of it too so give it a shot and see what you think.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on October 14, 2015, in All-New All-Different Marvel, Comic Books, Marvel Comics and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

