ANAD Marvel Adventures: New Avengers #1 and This Series is a Roller Coaster of Thoughts

New Avengers #1 Marvel Comics Cover

The Avengers for the most part from what we’ve been reading are a much more scaled down crew. The Uncanny Avengers working out of an old theater supported by Deadpool, The Avengers team from the FCBD special not having major funding, but The New Avengers is a whole other ballgame. The New Avengers are the Avengers with a limitless account and full of funding and endless wonder. Welcome to Roberto Da Costa’s (Sunspot) New Avengers team powered by A.I.M once Advanced Idea Mechanics and now Avengers Idea Mechanics. The team is another good mix of the characters joining Sunspot, Wiccan, Hulkling, Hawkeye (Clint Barton), White Tiger, Songbird, Power Man, Squirrel Girl and Tippy-Toe, and POD all make up The New Avengers. They’ve got the money, they’ve got the talent, and now they’re here to do their part to save the world. Al Ewing from the preview I saw is really pressing the concept of them going after villains unlike what we’ve seen before in Marvel. Time to see if The New Avengers really is a new concept and continuing the surprising ANAD winning streak with me or a whammy? Time to find out in my continuing ANAD Marvel Adventures!

Let’s get this out of the way for the sake of sanity, the art in this book is a mixed bag of tricks. Gerardo Sandoval’s art fluctuates wildly to really good in the Quinjet panels, to not that great looking in many cases. Out of all the styles so far I’ve seen out of Marvel this one was the one that I was a little concerned about. It wasn’t too bad in the preview story but with a full issue I felt my concerns for the art on this story were sadly justified. I really liked the opening panel on the Quinjet and the later battles in the issue, those looked dynamic and cool as anything I’ve seen and perfect for Sandoval. It’s when the story had to slow down that things fluctuated wildly. Yes kids I noticed the lack of eyeballs too but that didn’t bother me that terribly much, I’ve seen worse. I also have to say the coloring did a number on this book, Dono Sanchez Almara’s coloring was all over the place. At points it looked dark and killed the energy of the book but there were points where it captured the brightness and fun of the concept. It’s a book that demanded a unique and fun style but it doesn’t entirely work in this issue but it could improve. There’s a reason why I started with the art first as bluntly the story here, it rocks, it really does rock.

Al Ewing’s concept for the New Avengers is so much fun it is unreal. The team dynamic is great and Sunspot is awesome to see in action as he deals with A.I.M. now being his own force of good and interacting with a justifiably nervous S.H.I.E.L.D., that works. The team interactions all work, Squirrel Girl works especially well in a team setting like this, I’m impressed. Even Reed Richards from The Ultimate Universe works well as a villain here, he’s compelling and his W.H.I.S.P.E.R. organization is a great idea. The moniker of the Maker and his interactions with his underlings are wonderful, I enjoyed it. When the New Avengers are in battle against these weird crystal headed people, it was so strange but delightful as to how they banded together. Ewing has so much happening in this comic and despite any issues I’m having with the art, the story is a blast and so enjoyable. The art is the toughest part of this book while the actual writing and story is heading in the right direction.

Should you buy New Avengers #1? If ever there was a place to use the phrase your mileage may vary, this is it. The art is already going to polarize people but the story is engaging enough to keep you into the book. It’s worth trying at least. I’m still unsure if I’m going to continue with it personally as I like the story but the art does hurt it a little. It’s a strange situation to be in, so I’ll put this book as worth trying for this issue to see what you think. That’s my final verdict on New Avengers #1, great story and polarizing art.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on October 15, 2015, in All-New All-Different Marvel, ANAD Marvel Adventures, Comic Books, Marvel Comics and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

