Chill Bloggity Thing for 10/15/15 with Some Quick ANAD Marvel Thoughts!

Today has been my day of library, reading, and getting all sorts of cool stuff done for future adventures. Tomorrow will be mostly errands and so on. Even funnier I saw I had a coupon for Half Price Books from my birthday that I had somehow missed. I am as shocked as you are on me somehow missing a coupon for my birthday. Of course it expires on Saturday so hey an excuse for me to visit Half Price Books, oh shucks what a torment to visit a bookstore I would visit anyway. That’s probably going to be tomorrow outside of massive amounts of writing I plan on doing, or at least get in an hour or two of writing or more depending on what the day holds. As I say my Habitica is loving me right now, I am going to have the best set of gear tasking can buy on Habitica at this point.

Since I’m also still awake and have a few random thoughts popping into my head with some All-New All-Different Marvel books, I decided to quick blast a few before I go to sleep tonight. As let’s face it these will be short and sweet and I’ll get my random thoughts on them out of my system so here we go!

Contest of Champions #1:

I loved the original miniseries when I read it and that was my initial interest in this series. I didn’t know much about the fighting game until just after reading this issue and downloading the game on my phone. The simple concept of Contest of Champions is it uses Battleworld as a way to unleash different characters from all over the Marvel Universe to battle against one another. Same way as the mobile fighting game. Al Ewing has a lot of fun with this though as you can go nuts with a concept like this. I didn’t expect to like this book as much as I did though because it is a tie-in to a mobile game but is it ever a blast to read. Paco Medina’s art is gorgeous with Juan Vlasco’s inking and has a fitting look to handling the endless atmosphere and different worlds within Contest of Champions. With an impressive coloring job by David Curiel that fits this series well, It’s a solid book. Even if you’re not playing the game you’ll probably find yourself having fun with this book.

Invincible Iron Man #1:

Wow I really liked this comic a lot. Brian Michael Bendis has been a writer that I’ve been growing to love in recent years.  I’m excited for Invincible Iron Man as the new armor being able to use all the powers of any Iron Man armor is so cool. The Armor is slick and dynamic and David Marquez’s art captures that sleek new look. I loved Justin Ponsor’s coloring on this comic book, it’s bright, fun, and brimming with excitement, I’m beyond pleased. Bendis is also doing great character work with Tony himself and building up his new world. It’s a brave new world for Tony Stark and it shows as we have a take on a classic villain coming back into play and a crazy ending that practically begged me to want #2. This is one I am going to be buying on an ongoing basis that’s for sure.

I’m going to do a few more tomorrow on Guardians of the Galaxy, Sam Wilson Captain America #1, and Spider-Gwen #1 and go from there. Not sure if they’ll be full columns or just me doing these quick blasts like I am now. Anyway, to bed with me as I’m getting a little sleepy. Take care everyone and hope you all are doing well out there, bye for now!

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on October 15, 2015, in All-New All-Different Marvel, ANAD Marvel Adventures, Chill Bloggity Thing, Comic Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

