Adventures in Writing about Comics and Me, Oh the Places I Want To Go

I’ve been writing about comics for what seems like ages now. It’s been a journey and a half and never ceases to amaze me the people who like what I write about. Lately I’ve been trying out new ideas and new things related to comics, usually old ads or even talking about TV shows related to comics. It has opened up my eyes to so many new worlds and really helping me find a focus for my writing direction in the coming year. I’ve been using Habitica too as a way to keep myself on task in all that I’ve been doing as well. I’ve been someone who’s written about a lot but you know I still feel I got a lot left in the tank. It’s why I’ve been enjoying doing the Comics and Coffee feed every Friday, it’s been a great way for me to learn things as well. Considering Phoenix has given me full reign with Comics Trivia, it’s even more fun to cut loose and again, I get to try a new thing and so far it has been fun, a lot of fun. Even more I’m starting to loosen up in my writing again as I’m playing around with new projects while doing casual blogging at the same time. I feel you need that balance for the sake of sanity and to remind yourself that hey this is comics, make it fun by golly.

The Saturday Morning Post I did from 1981 was an experiment for me and I liked it. I got to deep dive into youtube and do some research into some shows that I’d heard of but also never heard of. I’m going to do more of that and even more looks at old and new comics. I think I’m going to spend some time with the All-New All-Different Marvel stuff too, heck I didn’t know people were so curious about New Avengers so I’m going to keep rolling with that. I do understand why people got hooked into the Captain America thought process, I liked writing that one too. In my adventure in tweaking my writing style I’m enjoying where it is taking me. I even want to play catch up with my indie and DC books too, I got plenty of those to write about as well. As I say, I got thrown into comics internet in a big way so everything I’ve written has always been a case of learning on the fly. I really have been working and experimenting and seeing what works for me and what doesn’t.

In turn I’ve been also trying to make a point to read much more than I have been. Between comics and novels, I’m backlogged to heck and back so I’ve been working on that. Put it this way, when my habitica has read three comics a day and 50-100 pages of a novel, you know I’m backlogged. It’s all part of improving my own writing and giving me more cool stuff to write about so inspiration and catching up on reading all at the same time. Backlogged reading and me is not good but I can catch up and I’ve also been working on organizing my collection too which also helps in my writing. It’s how I find stuff and keep things from getting cluttered, trying to work more on that. It’s all part of the process.

In turn with all of these projects I want to do it’ll encourage me to also write more. As that’s a major goal is to keep writing, keep working, and keep improving my craft. That’s always my goal and it is why I am always trying to keep learning more. It’s a good process and always something to keep in mind. Never be content with one level and always strive to be better, that’s the name of the game for me. Heck I remember in my early reviews I barely talked about art and so forth, so I made a point to fix that, then coloring, and more. I read, I observe, and I keep learning to see what I can do to make my stuff better. That’s my continuing goal on top of everything else. On my habitica I actually do have a goal of writing 1,000 words a day. I put it on hard but it’s a daily goal I want to make sure I hit. I’ll make it happen come heck or high water.

Now you all know a little more as to what I’m up to with my own writing. This is kind of the opposite of my Chill Bloggity Things where I just write whatever pops into my head just to get something down. Now I’m trying for a more focused goal to get stuff done and written about. The Chill Bloggity Things will still pop up for sure as sometimes I just want to chill and write about whatever. No goal in mind, just write and see what happens. I have so many places I want to go with my writing and I’m far from finished. I’m only giving a hint as to what I want to do in the future. So many more adventures to go on.

For all of you who read all of this, thank you for reading and thank you for taking the time to get a look as to what I want to do. This is partially for me to keep me on point but to let you all know that I have many things that I want to do and appreciate you all taking an interest in my universe. I really do appreciate you all from those just discovering my writing to those who have been following me over the years in my adventures. You’re all awesome and great people, nothing but love here.

I am going to finish this up now and get some more reading done for the evening. Time to get lost in some worlds. Take care everyone and keep being amazing.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on October 29, 2015, in Chill Bloggity Thing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

