Accepting and Embracing the World of Live Tweeting

Let’s start this off by saying that at one point I was an active live tweeter. I was heavily involved in live tweeting, The Walking Dead, Falling Skies, and South Park and those were my regular shows to live tweet. Mostly because I had other friends that I was watching with and made a couple friends that way too. After awhile though I kind of fell out of live tweeting because I found myself not as into it as I once was. I had nothing against live tweeting but after awhile it just wasn’t for me. Back then though it wasn’t as huge as it is nowadays. I know many people who despise live tweeting because a lot of people don’t do it right. People will spoil shows left and right in the midst of their live tweets and that’s where the hatred of live tweeting comes in for people. I can understand it and why there are certain nights I know if I’m not going to watch a show I just avoid social media for the night because it can be just as nutty on facebook now. For as many though that go spoiler crazy, there are others that are actively engaging and have genuine and fun chats about the shows. So this is why I’m writing this, talking about why sometimes you almost have to accept and embrace that live tweeting is here to stay, love it or hate it.

Now why do I say that live tweeting is here to stay, one is now every TV show uses live tweeting. The Walking Dead fans are notorious for spoilers but they’re also hyper passionate and talk about the show with a fervor like no other. They could be better about not spoiling but I also know live tweeters who are good about not spoiling the big events of the show. The Flash is heavy on live tweeting, Arrow is heavy on it, and heck I’ve even seen the Thursday night ABC shows become huge live tweeting events. Then the WWE with Raw and their live PPV’s especially rely heavily on social media. Social media is part of the ratings as much as the actual Live, DVR, and even streaming views. The landscape for TV is new beast and live tweeting isn’t going away at all. It’s not just about discussion anymore, it’s about part discussion and also that people are paying attention to your show at all.

As I am defending live tweeting I’m also going to give advice on how to do it responsibly. After all there is an art to everything and with live tweeting there are good and bad ways to do it. The bad ways are straight up spoiling major points in a show. The reason why there are so many people who despise live tweeting is because of spoilers. If you’re going to live tweet be careful how you say a plot point that blows your mind. Now with The Flash there was an easter egg of King Shark that appeared and that’s a grey area spoiler. It’s a your mileage will vary on this. For me when I saw King Shark I made a point to tread carefully with it until I saw everyone straight up hollering from the roof tops about King Shark. About a day or so later I decided to let my King Shark nerd out fly because every freaking website had talked about it by that point. Just for live tweeters, even something mild about King Shark be careful. Say #TheFlash #Spoiler so people could mute it or just ignore it and go on to something else. Seriously The Walking Dead could learn a thing or do about being careful about spoilers because once a major event happens on that show, all bets are off. Just #Spoilers people and it could help a lot.

That’s really the biggest one is the spoilers. Everything else about talking about a character you like, that’s fine and awesome, go nuts and talk about that character you love. Talk about the scenes that you’re digging and all that, there’s so many things you can talk about in a live tweet without outright spoiling things for people. Not everyone watches live so be mindful of that and be passionate but don’t be a spoiler junkie, don’t be that person in the theater talking about all the plot points before they can see the movie. The Live Tweeting Genie is out of the bottle but it is now up to us to know how to manage it and control how the conversation goes.

I haven’t done a live tweet in a long time but I do like talking TV shows on twitter frequently so I can see why people enjoy live tweeting. Usually I watch most of my stuff live, at least the stuff that I know will likely be spoiled before I can blink. If I didn’t watch The Walking Dead live, oh lord I would have it spoiled for me in five seconds and same goes for the Flash and Arrow. Others aren’t able or just don’t watch it live and have learned the fine art of avoiding all social media during certain nights of the week. Others forget and then the anger over the spoilers begin and it’s why I’ve gone on twitter actively to tell people to be careful, yet it seems to fall on deaf ears. Hence why I write this.

To sum this up for people, be kind to the DVR and Streamers of the world Live Tweeters. Not everyone can watch a show live and some people even wait for Netflix or even a box set to be released before they get into a show. Be kind is all I ask my Live Tweeting friends, be kind. The Live Tweet is out there, the Facebook blasts are out there, and it is up to all of us to be cool and learn not to spoil the living heck out of everything for the rest of the universe. Thanks for reading and take care.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on October 30, 2015, in Chill Bloggity Thing, Comic Book Television, Comic Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

