Hi, I’m a Comic Book Optimist and You’re All Cool With Me

Hi I'm Ambush Bug

Hi, my name is Wesley and how are you doing?

I’m a guy who writes about comics on the internet, I’ve written for a few sites, and still love talking about it on social media all the same. I’m usually optimistic and I have my cranky moments but overall I’m a positive person. Lately, I’ve felt that we need more love in the comics internet scene. I’ve interacted with writers from many different sites over the years comics wise. I’ve interacted with many writers, artists, and so forth over the years comic book wise. When I first started I really had no idea what I was doing, all I knew was I liked comics and liked talking about them. Then writing about them happened and then it ballooned from there into a decent sized writing adventure. The one thing is even at points where I’ve not been exactly positive about certain aspects of a comic or what’s going on with them, I’ve still always really enjoyed comics. It was all about to me the conversations and the energy behind them. Nowadays at points it seems that there’s a level of cynicism that appears within the comics community like no other and it makes me sad. Yet at my core I am a generally positive person which makes me the rare breed of a Comic Book Optimist.

I’ve had my moments of negativity over the years like anyone else yet I like keeping things on a positive level, an active energy of love in everything I write about. It’s why I’ve been writing the way I have and how I look at books now. Sometimes I think I may started to mellow as I’ve gotten older but it is more along the lines of if I dislike a book now, I really have to find something major that sparks my ire so to speak. Say with ANAD Marvel right now, there’s been a lot of solid books and only a couple that left me kind of lukewarm but that’s really it. DC Comics wise, I’ve found a lot of cool books but still part of the line is kind of okay and that’s about it. Yet I know that there’s a lot of things that need to be fixed but I feel that in time they will be. It’ll take awhile but we’re getting there slowly but surely. Every time I see something that could potentially turn out to be awful, it somehow ends up being better in the end. Hence why I never quite lose my internal optimism for comics.

Hence why the Ambush Bug, as Ambush Bug is one of my ultimate in fun characters that I always find myself relating to. Fourth wall breaking madness but filled with everlasting comic book goodness, Ambush Bug in a nutshell. I remember I used to use a fourth wall breaking end line for my columns at Comics Crux at one point. Some goofy thing but really I am a guy who looks at fun in comics and tries to find it in everything. It’s tough to be a comic book optimist and find the good in anything and yet somehow I usually can find something. It was lost to me for a short time but I’ve got it back now and I don’t plan on losing it. It’s also why I put in that you’re all cool with me because you’re all cool with me. My chats on twitter about how I am is pretty much this post, you are all awesome and you’re all why I am such a comic book optimist, the fan base of comics encourages me more than discourages me at this point.

Seeing all the awesome creator owned projects out there and what people are doing on the independent scene of comics, that’s exciting and amazing to behold. I still haven’t discovered all of it yet but what I have seen blows my mind and makes me look forward to seeing what will be happening next in comics. Heck when Marvel and DC are trying out a lot of things lately even with stumbling blocks, that’s interesting to me and that has my eyes curious as to what will be coming. It’s pretty awesome on the comic scene right now, not even going to kid you, it’s a pretty wild and fun period of time. I see the comic book TV scene and I’m blown away from what I’ve seen on it, then the comics do that much more and it makes me an even more engaged writer than ever before, I look forward to talking comics more and more lately.

Welcome to the most unique period of time to ever be a comic book fan. Ridiculous amounts of new material like nothing we’ve ever seen before, new ideas, new worlds, and more new things being tried than ever before. The fanbase is more engaged, the conversations overall more productive, and we are starting to get somewhere. Hence why I have fully embraced being a Comic Book Optimist. It’d be hard to break me of it at this point. Like I said things aren’t perfect right now on the comic book scene but my goodness it is ten times better than it used to be that’s for darned sure.

Yeah we live in amazing times and I’m pretty curious to see where we end up in comics in the coming years. New genre explorations from new and old creators, the bigger companies trying out stuff and seeing what happens, and so many other interesting things happening. It is why I still love wandering about on twitter, facebook, and more and seeing what else is out there and what will be created next. Even the digital platforms have opened up new and exciting possibilities for creators to get their name out there. This is one amazing and unique time to be a comic fan.

I want to know how you feel about comic books nowadays, optimistic, pessimistic, bring it on as I want to know what you all think out there about comics and more lately. Whatever the case may be, your opinion either optimistic or not, isn’t wrong by any means. This is definitely one of my favorite periods to be a comic fan that’s for sure. I still can’t believe what I’ve seen so far in the industry that is more good than bad. Oh yes there is still bad but there is so much more good out there.

That my friends is the life of a Comic Book Optimist, I know everything bad and good that is happening. I just know it’ll be better and with time everything will be better than ever before.

About Wesley Messer

columnist/reviewer at rhymeswithgeek.com, geek culture examiner at examiner.com and general jack of all trades in everything else.

Posted on November 3, 2015, in Chill Bloggity Thing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

